Novel Writing and Math

Good news: I met my word count goal for Day 1 of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). Woo hoo! My story is a time travel romance set in World War II Bletchley Park, and yes, Alan Turing will make a guest appearance.

I always have my students set up the elements of their plot before they begin. In honor of my mathematical setting, I have renamed my own plot elements as follows:

  • Beginning = Defining the Variables
  • Inciting Incident = Reality Is a Special Case
  • Rising Action = Problem Sets
  • Climax = Limit
  • Falling Action = Proof
  • Resolution = QED

Wishing a great November to all the NaNoWriMo authors out there! We’ve got this!

One thought on “Novel Writing and Math

Leave a Reply

